Mallorca Update

Hey hoo! Finally, I am able to write this update about my this year’s holidays on the lovely island Mallorca (read my previous one here).

Starting at our arrival:  My dad and me flew from Munich to Palma de Mallorca in the noon with AirBerlin (no, this is no collaboration), and arrived after only two hours in the Mediterranean climate. During our approach for landing, you could see the sea, small villages and the dry land. It seemed that it had not been raining for months..

Even though whole Germany visited Mallorca this year the airport was not crowded at all so we got our luggage easily and were picked up by my other family members flying one day before us. I recommend to rent a car during your stay so that you are not tied to one place and are able to go on some short trips.

On the next day, it was Monday, I met up with Jessica Kotte (@bluesummerbird), also a 16-year old girl from Germany spending her holidays on Mallorca. We took some pictures together as I received a bathing suit from the brand Bodyguard one day before my departure. I think the results turned out very well.

Photo 31.07.17, 4 43 42 PMPhoto 31.07.17, 4 46 47 PM-2Photo 31.07.17, 4 31 49 PM-2Processed with VSCO with a6 preset


TRIPS YOU SHOULD DO

1) Santanyí & Cala Mondrago

On Wednesdays, a weekly market including food, souvenirs, clothes and jewelry, takes place which is really nice to see. Make sure you do not arrive too late as it gets extremely crowded. Added to that, Santanyí itself is such a pretty village with an old flair floating through the streets.

Nearby, the beach Cala Mondrago is located with some beautiful lagoons. If you do not want to lay down between the masses, take a 5-minute walk to a hidden lagoon with beautiful clear blue water and a white sand beach. Trust me, it is definitely worth it.

IMG_3120

IMG_3129

2) Valldemossa

As you may know Chopin lived there for a couple of years due to his son’s disease. Inherently this might be a reason to stroll through the streets once. Besides it is a really nice city to see with traditional houses, architecture and cute boutiques.

When you enter the village there is an outstanding good ice cream palor. On hot days as it was then, it is the best opportunity to cool you down.IMG_3952

IMG_3941IMG_3944IMG_3949IMG_3930IMG_3931IMG_3912IMG_3915

3) hike to Es Port d’es Canonge

I am pretty sure, there are also other different hiking tours around the island, but I especially loved this one due to its amazing view over the crystal blue water during hiking. In Es Port d’es Canonge we ate a late lunch in a cute restaurant which offers lots of different tapas which were extremely tasty (and cheap).

Afterwards we jumped into the sea which was glorious! So do not forget to take your bikini with you! 😉

IMG_3890IMG_3898IMG_3901

4) Shopping Centre Marratxí

I mean, every girl loves clothes! And especially expensive brands which are not effortable but so nice to wear. In the Marratxí they offer clothes up to 80% off (it’s an outlet) where you find Levi’s, Calvin Klein, Guess and other fancy stores. If there is nothing left to do, definitely take look in! You will thank me.

5) Beach Club ‘Gran Folies’

Next to Port d’Andratx, the beach club ‘Gran Folies’ is located. You can lie directly next to the sea on rocks and are able to use a salt water pool. Just rent a sun lounger (12€ pp.) and you can enjoy your whole day in the sun offered drinks, cocktails and snacks.

Once we rent some stand-up paddle and it was lit! We were laughing soo hard that we almost fell off our boards.

IMG_3266IMG_3274IMG_3318IMG_3321


RESTAURANTS YOU NEED TO VISIT

Even though these were normal restaurants, I was always able to find something without meat or fish (for those who are veggies as me). But the quality was absolutely top!

1) La Plaza (Andratx)

The little Italien Restaurant is located in the middle of Andratx, at the main place like the name says. Definitely try the rucola salad with the feta cheese. I ate it like 5 times in a row.

IMG_3206

IMG_3160
view from our balcony

IMG_3188IMG_3239

2) Club Nautico (Santa Ponca)

From the outdoor terrace you can face the sunset going down over the harbour while having dinner. It is just a magical place with a great offer of Italien specialities. Afterwards take a walk along the promenade.

IMG_3101

3) Bruno’s Cafe (Port Adriano)

If you are just up to some snacks, I would recommend Bruno’s Cafe in Port Adriano. They also offer vegetarian meals which pleased me a lot! Also take a look at the huge yachts laying the harbor. It is insane.

IMG_3750IMG_3748IMG_3759IMG_3755IMG_3710


RESUME

Even when I have already been to Mallorca so many times, it is always a vacation I am looking forward to and I love being there. Every time I am spending my time on this oustanding island I never get bored due to its amazing climate, beaches and opportunities you can experience.

Plus, it is just an two-hour flight away from Germany. To have a nice vacation to relax, you do not have to travel to the Carribeans or Maledives; sometimes the nicest places are not far away from you.


If you have any further questions, let me know! I am keen on to answer all of yours. Where did you spend your summer holidays this years?

Sophie xx

4 thoughts on “Mallorca Update

Leave a Reply

